Here, There, and Everywhere

Every day here is interesting, always in a different way. Today it was taking a walk with the next door neighbor. She is also an American, a jazz pianist, her husband is a painter, Jacques Lestrade,https://www.galleriesmauricesternberg.com/candice-whitman mainly watercolor but he also works in oils. His work is pretty amazing. Josette and Didier found videos of Judy playing jazz with various people in venues in France, the rest of Europe and Africa!. She’s really good! She even played at my friend David’s gallery in Cahors. She said she didn’t meet him because the Folk Club arranged everything. The Folk Club was started by a group of English people who wanted to hear particular kinds of music and were willing to do the work to make it happen. David just rented them his space. The space was great. I helped him with the decoration, mainly doing some painting and a bit of mosaic here and there. It was fun! It was his gallery and a great place to listen to music, which is another of David’s favorite things to do. Linda Blair has played with a lot of well known musicians, including Gary Brooker from Procol Harum. I was impressed!

A week into my stay I got a cold. Slowed everything down, but that was what needed to happen. My vacation was becoming like my life…too much to do! Plus, I got lost on a walk with Fauvette, (Josette told me there was no ‘l’). I must have walked 8 klms. As many of you know, I am out of shape, it was a push to get back home. Both the dog and I collapsed on our return. Josette says Fauvette never gets tired, but it’s not true. It’s been a while since I started this, the cold is almost gone.

Tom, Priscilla, and I went to the Haut Baran http://www.hautbaran.com/for lunch today. Beautiful place, wonderful food and great company, owned by some more of my favorite people in France, William and Rosalie. William’s mother was here from the States, she’s French and her name is Betty. I told Josette her name because it sounds Americanized but she said it is a French name. Who knew? Betty is a card. 86 or there abouts and she made me laugh several times.

The day before we went to the Baran, we went to the bank…always fun!…and afterwards visited some English friends who just happened to be here the same time as me. Different accent, sly sense of humor, always entertaining, and best all, always happy to be together. Michele is the musical and artistically talented one. Nigel is the one with the interesting take on everything. With Didier, everything said is checked on the internet, with Nigel, it’s, ‘ don’t bother’. Being right isn’t as big a deal as being entertaining, kinda like on QI. Only my current opinion, subject to change at any time. Oh, and of course there were delicious treats from a chocolate shop. Michele is nothing if not a connoisseur of all things sweet. So it was delicious fun!

Tonight we went to Goujounac to take a little walk. Many photos later we ended up at a brocante. It was perfect! The lady running it was what I want to look like in another 10 years. Her pieces were exquisite, her home was my ideal place to live and I can afford one of her rugs! Josette said we could go back, I’d left my bag at home. Anyway, there will be photos!

About backinfrance

later.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment